We work hard to ensure all children at Furzedown Primary School receive a broad, balanced and creative curriculum which engages and challenges them.

As a primary school, we educate children aged 3 to 11, covering Nursery, Foundation Stage, Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2.

Foundation Stage – Nursery and Reception classes (3-5 year olds)

The Foundation Stage makes a crucial contribution to children’s early development and learning. We provide children with a rich variety of teaching and learning experiences that are appropriate to their needs. The Foundation Stage is about developing key learning skills; listening, speaking, concentrating, persistence and learning to work and co-operate with others.

The six areas of learning that make up the Foundation Stage Curriculum are:

  • Personal and social development
  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Mathematical development
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Physical development
  • Creative development

The outdoor environment is also a special part of the Foundation Stage curriculum. Our use of the outdoor areas is carefully planned as regularly as the weather allows! The reception classes have their own specially equipped outdoor area which is planned for and in continuous use.

Key Stage 1 (ages 5-7) – Years 1 and 2. Key Stage 2 (ages 8-11) – Years 3 to 6

The core curriculum at Key Stages 1 and 2 comprises:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science

Furzedown Primary School has a setting system in place for Mathematics from Year 1 – Year 6, which ensures pupils are taught in the appropriate group according to their abilities and learning style.

Art, Computing, French and Music are taught by subject specialist teachers, to ensure the quality and depth of learning in these vital subject areas.

Click here for information about the changes in the 2014-15 national curriculum.